Arthur C Clarke Award

Arthur C Clarke Award

The Arthur C. Clarke Award is the most prestigious award for science fiction in the UK and recognised as one of the most respected awards in the world, the equivalent of the Booker Prize.

Awarded annually and now in its 22nd year, the winner, who will receive £2008 and the commemorative engraved bookend, will be announced at the Award ceremony on April 30th at this year's SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival.

The shortlist for the 2008 Arthur C. Clarke Award is:

  • The Red Men
    Matthew de Abaitua - Snow Books
  • The H-Bomb Girl
    Stephen Baxter - Faber & Faber
  • The Carhullan Army
    Sarah Hall - Faber & Faber
  • The Raw Shark Texts
    Steven Hall - Canongate
  • The Execution Channel
    Ken MacLeod - Orbitz
  • Black Man
    Richard Morgan - Gollancz

The judging panel for the 2008 Arthur C. Clarke Award are:

Niall Harrison and Claire Weaver for the British Science Fiction Association

Pat Cadigan and Francis Spufford for the Science Fiction Foundation

Pauline Clarke for the science fiction news website SF

Paul Billinger represents the Arthur C. Clarke Award as the Chair of Judges

The annual award is presented for the best science fiction novel of the year, and selected from a list of novels whose UK first edition was published in the previous calendar year.

Screening Times

Wed 30th Apr
Arthur C Clarke